Before we begin, lets be clear here, I am not asking for a return to Victorian times, or some medieval notion of chivalry but I am beginning to wonder when common courtesy became something that we are scare of, something that is a dirty word?
I am a regular visitor to the Photo Espresso coffee shop on Victoria Street; they do a beautiful hot chocolate that sets me up for the day, and the ladies behind the counter are the perfect front of house team; they know your name, they smile with you, laugh with you and serve great drinks. But today I watched as people, and these are grown adults, spoke to these guys so rudely I almost jumped in to ask if they had forgotten their manners...but decided against it.
It did however make me think. How many times do you say please and thank you to the people who serve you, the people who hold the door open for you, the waitress that serves you or the driver who lets you in ahead of them in traffic?
Courtesy is not a dirty word, it is not a lesson in history, but it may soon be. I am alarmed at how often I hear people treat others with disrespect, teenagers who seemingly wouldnt know how to spell please never mind say it, but then we are just as bad; too busy to smile, to busy to say thanks?
And then there are children, I am amazed at how naturally some kids demonstrate this courtesy and respect for others, my son's friend (aged 6) always says please and thank you, it seems like the most natural thing in world for him, and yet I wonder how many adults can say the same thing.
So next time a driver lets you into the lane, a waitress serves you your coffee or someone needs a hand with a door; paint a smile on your face and be courteous; it will come back to you many times over.